Self-cleaning litter boxes run from $99.95 (PetSafe ScoopFree Crystal Classic) to $899 (Litter-Robot 5 Pro), and the difference isn't just features. Weight limits, entry heights, drawer sizes and litter rules decide whether a machine works for your cats. We pulled those numbers for 20 current models from manufacturer specs and manuals, linked every one to its source, and checked our picks against hands-on testing by reviewers who actually ran the machines.
Our picks at a glance
- Best overall: Litter-Robot 4 ($699). Rated for up to 4 cats (3–25 lb), wide 15.75 in. entry, 90-day trial, and Wirecutter's top pick after hands-on testing.
- Best budget: CATLINK Scooper Open-X, Multi-Cat ($199). Open top, 12 L drawer, and Wirecutter's budget pick.
- Best for health tracking: PETKIT Purobot Max Pro 2 ($499.99). Camera plus weight ID, and a Wirecutter pick.
- Best uncovered: Petlibro Luma ($599.99). Open globe, 17.4 in. entrance, camera ID.
- Best for small spaces: Litter-Robot EVO ($599). 20.6 × 24.3 in. footprint, for 1–2 cats up to 19 lb.
- Best for very large cats: Litter-Robot 5 ($799). 3–30 lb range, up to 5 cats.
- Best low entry for senior cats: PETKIT Purobot Max 3 ($399.99). An 8.03 in. entrance (spec-based pick).
- Cheapest way in: PetSafe ScoopFree Crystal Classic ($99.95). For one cat under 15 lb that's fine with crystal litter.
Have two or more cats? Read our multi-cat guide first. Drawer claims are quoted for one cat, and per-cat tracking has limits most lists don't mention.
Side-by-side: size, weight and entry
| Model | List price | Dimensions (in) | Unit weight | Entry | Cat weight | Waste capacity (1 cat) | Litter |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Litter-Robot 4 | $699 | 29.5 H × 22 W × 27 D | 24 lb | 15.75 × 15.75; 12 off floor | 3–25 lb | Every 2 weeks | Clumping clay |
| Litter-Robot 5 | $799 | 22 × 27 footprint | 28.7 lb | 15.75 × 15.75 | 3–30 lb | Up to 10 days | Clumping clay |
| Litter-Robot 5 Pro | $899 | 22 × 27 footprint | 29.6 lb | 15.75 × 15.75 | 3–30 lb | Up to 10 days | Clumping clay |
| Litter-Robot EVO | $599 | 27.6 H; 20.6 × 24.3 footprint | 21.5 lb | 14.85 × 14.85 | 3–19 lb | Up to 7 days | Clumping clay |
| PETKIT Purobot Max Pro 2 | $499.99 | 25.86 × 21.18 × 23.74 | ~24.25 lb | 10.03 high | 3.3–22 lb | 8 L; up to 17 days | Clumping clay/tofu/mixed |
| PETKIT Purobot Max 3 | $399.99 | 24.4 × 21.2 × 21.7 | 22 lb | 8.03 high | 3.3–22 lb | 7 L; up to 15 days | Clumping |
| PETKIT PuraMax 2 | Not on PETKIT's US store | 24.41 × 21.18 × 21.73 | 22 lb | 7.87 high | 3.3–22 lb | 7 L; up to 15 days | Most clumping |
| CATLINK Open-X (Multi-Cat) | $199 | 25.6 × 23.6 × 27.5 | 13.8 high | 3.3 lb min | 12 L; up to 15 days | Clumping | |
| Petlibro Luma | $599.99 | 23.3 × 22.5 × 28.1 | 33.01 lb | 17.4 | 2.2–22 lb | 11 L; ~7 days for 2 cats | Clumping, tofu, mixed |
| Neakasa M1 Plus | $399.99 | 20.67 × 23.26 × 20.2 | 22.81 lb | 13.86 high | 2.2–~33 lb | 11.23 L; up to 14 days | Fast-clumping |
| Casa Leo Leo's Loo Too | $599.99 | 22 × 24 × 27.6 | 27.5 lb | Over 3, up to 20 lb | 100% clay clumping only | ||
| PetSafe ScoopFree SmartSpin | $399.99 | 20.9 × 19.3 × 26.4 (retailer) | 12 off floor | 2.2 (retailer)–25 lb | 6 L; up to 2 weeks | Any; clumping best | |
| PetSafe ScoopFree OpenSky | $549.99 | 20 × 18.8 × 24 | Open top | Up to 33 lb | 8.5 L; up to 2 weeks | Most clumping | |
| PetSafe ScoopFree Clumping | $279.99 | 21.1 × 10.7 × 29.0 | Open tray | "Weekly" bin empty | Clumping | ||
| PetSafe Crystal Smart | $269.99–$299.99 | 27.6 × 19.1 × 6.2 (15.6 H hooded) | Crystal trays | ||||
| PetSafe Crystal Pro | $229.99 | 28.2 × 20.4 × 16 | Hooded | Tray 20–30 days | Crystal trays | ||
| PetSafe Crystal Plus | $199.99 | 28.2 × 20.4 × 6.6 | Open tray | Crystal trays | |||
| PetSafe Crystal Classic | $99.95 | 20.4 × 7.1 × 28.0 | Open tray | Up to 15 lb | Crystal trays | ||
| ChillX AutoEgg | $399.99 | 30 L × 19 W × 17 H | 11 lb | 4.4–15.4 lb | 2 L bin | Clumping | |
| Litter-Robot 3 Connect | Discontinued | 24.25 × 27 footprint | 24 lb | 10.25 × 15.25 | 5 lb min | Clumping |
Download the full dataset with a source link for every cell from our methodology page.
Noise: what the decibel claims really tell you
Noise is the spec buyers ask about most and the one they can trust least. Every manufacturer figure below is a claim with no stated measuring distance, weighting or room, so the numbers can't be ranked against each other.
| Model | Figure | Who says so |
|---|---|---|
| Litter-Robot 4 | ~37 dB average while cycling (25–40 dB range) | Cats.com, measured; distance not stated |
| Litter-Robot 4 | 40–45 dB "during testing" | Whisker staff answer on its product Q&A |
| Litter-Robot 3 Connect | 60–65 dB (Whisker) / 35–45 dB (Cats.com table) | The two sources disagree by about 20 dB |
| Casa Leo Leo's Loo Too | ~30 dB | Casa Leo |
| PETKIT PuraMax 2 / Purobot Max Pro 2 | 35 dB | PETKIT |
| CATLINK Open-X | <35 dB | CATLINK |
| Petlibro Luma | 35–47 dB, depending on fan speed | Petlibro |
| Neakasa M1 Plus | ≤50 dB | Neakasa |
Two things stand out. First, the one model with both a maker figure and an independent measurement (Litter-Robot 4) shows a 3–8 dB spread: Whisker's own staff answer (40–45 dB) is higher than Cats.com's reading (~37 dB average). That's a reminder that distance and room conditions change the result. Second, Wirecutter says it measured noise with a decibel meter but doesn't publish the readings in its guide. If noise is your main concern, look for timer and sleep modes (Litter-Robot's Sleep Mode, PETKIT's and CATLINK's timer modes) rather than chasing a decibel number.
The best self-cleaning litter boxes
Litter-Robot 4: best overall
Whisker
Litter-Robot 4
Rotating-globe design that sifts clumps into a sealed drawer after each visit. Whisker rates one unit for up to 4 cats weighing 3–25 lb.
- Cats supportedUp to 4 (per Whisker)
- Cat weight3–25 lb
- Entryway15.75 in × 15.75 in
- Footprint22 in × 27 in
- LitterClumping clay recommended
- Trial / warranty90-day trial; 1-yr WhiskerCare
Manufacturer list price: from $699 (litter-robot.com, checked Oct 19, 2026). Prices change; retailer prices may differ.
Wirecutter's top pick after testing a long list of machines: "spacious and repairable, and it's easy to clean and customize." It even outscored Whisker's newer Litter-Robot 5 Pro and EVO in Wirecutter's testing. On paper it covers the widest range of households: 3–25 lb cats, up to 4 cats, a 15.75 in. entry, sealed drawer, and per-cat weight in the app. Whisker's 90-day in-home trial (on direct purchases) is twice PetSafe's 45-day return window. Downsides: $699, a 22 × 27 in. footprint, a covered design with one exit, and Whisker recommends standard-weight clumping clay.
What we like
- Wirecutter top pick (hands-on)
- 3–25 lb cats, up to 4 cats
- Replacement parts sold for DIY repair (per Wirecutter)
- 90-day in-home trial
Watch-outs
- $699
- Large footprint
- Covered globe
- Weight ID can't separate cats within about 1 lb (Whisker)
CATLINK Scooper Open-X (Multi-Cat): best budget
CATLINK
Scooper Open-X (Multi-Cat version)
Open-top drum with a 12 L drawer for $199. Buy the Multi-Cat version: the $169 single-cat version charges $30 to unlock multi-cat ID.
- Cat weight3.3 lb minimum, 6 months+ (max not stated)
- Entrance height13.8 in
- Waste drawer12 L; 4–7 days with multiple cats (CATLINK)
- Dimensions25.6 × 23.6 × 27.5 in
- Warranty1 year
- Returns90 days
Manufacturer list price: $199 (catlinkus.com, checked Oct 19, 2026). Prices change; retailer prices may differ.
Wirecutter found that most cheap boxes "had serious safety issues or a reputation for breaking down quickly," and named the $199 Open-X the exception. It cleaned reliably, and its gear is designed so the globe can't close on a cat. Expect a clunky app, a 1-year warranty with no extension, and a 13.8 in. step-in height that one owner on CATLINK's site suggests pairing with steps. Buy the Multi-Cat listing. The $169 single-cat version charges $30 to unlock multi-cat ID.
PETKIT Purobot Max Pro 2: best for health tracking
PETKIT
Purobot Max Pro 2
Drum-style box with an AI camera that PETKIT says can tell similar-weight cats apart. 8 L bin, 10 in entrance, 3.3–22 lb cats.
- Cat IDCamera + weight
- Cat weight3.3–22 lb
- Entrance height10.03 in
- Waste bin8 L, up to 17 days for 1 cat
- Dimensions25.86 × 21.18 × 23.74 in
- Wi-Fi2.4 / 5 GHz
Manufacturer list price: $499.99 (with Fence 2.0) (petkit.com, checked Oct 19, 2026). Prices change; retailer prices may differ.
A Wirecutter pick for cleaning well and for an app that gives "a ton of info" on toileting routines, with a built-in camera. PETKIT says camera-plus-weight ID can tell similar-weight cats apart, which weight-only systems can't. The trade-offs are a smaller interior than the Litter-Robot 4 (Wirecutter), a 22 lb cat limit, and a subscription for 30-day video history.
Petlibro Luma: best uncovered
Petlibro
Luma Smart Litter Box
Uncovered globe with a downward camera that Petlibro says identifies up to 10 cats. 11 L drawer rated for about 7 days with 2 cats.
- Cat IDCamera, up to 10 cats
- Cat weight2.2–22 lb
- Entrance17.4 in
- Waste drawer11 L; up to 7 days for 2 cats
- Noise (maker)35–47 dB by fan speed
- Trial / warranty90-day trial; 24 months
Manufacturer list price: $599.99 (petlibro.com, checked Oct 19, 2026). Prices change; retailer prices may differ.
Cornell notes that most cats prefer uncovered boxes. The Luma gives you self-cleaning without a hood: an open globe, a 17.4 in. entrance and camera ID for up to 10 cats. Wirecutter picked it for cats who prefer uncovered boxes, but warns that saving footage needs an expensive subscription and that support response was slow for one tester. Hard floors only, and the cat limit is 22 lb.
Litter-Robot EVO: best for small spaces
Whisker
Litter-Robot EVO
Smaller Litter-Robot for 1–2 cats weighing 3–19 lb. Whisker quotes up to 7 days between drawer empties for one cat.
- Cats supported1–2 (per Whisker)
- Cat weight3–19 lb
- Entryway14.85 in × 14.85 in
- Footprint20.6 in × 24.3 in
- Height27.6 in
- Trial90-day in-home trial
Manufacturer list price: $599 (litter-robot.com, checked Oct 19, 2026). Prices change; retailer prices may differ.
The EVO trims the Litter-Robot footprint to 20.6 × 24.3 in. and 27.6 in. tall, for 1–2 cats weighing 3–19 lb. Wirecutter found it cleans "just as well as our top pick" but "felt flimsier," and plans to retest. Skip it for big cats or more than two cats, since Whisker itself rates it for 1–2.
Litter-Robot 5: best for very large cats
Whisker
Litter-Robot 5
Whisker's newest globe without cameras. Rated for up to 5 cats weighing 3–30 lb, with WasteID that separates #1 from #2.
- Cats supportedUp to 5 (per Whisker)
- Cat weight3–30 lb
- Entryway15.75 in × 15.75 in
- Footprint22 in × 27 in
- Unit weight28.7 lb
- Trial / warranty90-day trial; 1-yr WhiskerCare
Manufacturer list price: $799 (litter-robot.com, checked Oct 19, 2026). Prices change; retailer prices may differ.
The highest weight range among the enclosed globes we compared (3–30 lb), a 17.5 in. interior height and a 5-cat rating. It's newer than the LR4. Wirecutter hadn't tested the camera-free LR5 when we checked, and it found the 5 Pro's app glitchy. If your biggest cat is under 25 lb, the cheaper LR4 covers you.
PETKIT Purobot Max 3: best low entry
PETKIT
Purobot Max 3
Low 8 in entrance and a 7 L bin at $399.99. Weight-based cat tracking only, and a 22 lb ceiling.
- Cat weight3.3–22 lb, 6 months+
- Entrance height8.03 in
- Waste bin7 L, up to 15 days for 1 cat
- Dimensions24.4 × 21.2 × 21.7 in
- Unit weight22 lb
- FloorHard surface required
Manufacturer list price: $399.99 (petkit.com, checked Oct 19, 2026). Prices change; retailer prices may differ.
At 8.03 in., its entrance is one of the lowest in the dataset (the older PuraMax 2 is 7.87 in.), which helps senior, arthritic or short-legged cats. This pick is based on specs only. We haven't found independent hands-on testing of the Max 3 yet.
PetSafe ScoopFree Crystal Classic: cheapest way in
PetSafe
ScoopFree Crystal Classic
The cheapest way into self-cleaning at $99.95. One cat up to 15 lb, disposable crystal trays, no app.
- Cat weightUp to 15 lb
- Kittens6 months+ (PetSafe)
- LitterScoopFree crystal trays
- Dimensions20.4 × 7.1 × 28.0 in
- AppNo
- Returns45 days
Manufacturer list price: $99.95 (petsafe.com, checked Oct 19, 2026). Prices change; retailer prices may differ.
At $99.95 it's the cheapest self-cleaning option from an established brand. It's for one cat up to 15 lb, at least 6 months old, that's comfortable with crystal litter. You'll keep buying ScoopFree trays, so the low sticker price isn't the whole cost.
Also considered
- PetSafe ScoopFree SmartSpin ($399.99): 6 L sealed drawer, up to 25 lb, any litter. A reasonable mid-price globe on paper, but we haven't found recent independent hands-on testing. It's our next research priority.
- PetSafe ScoopFree OpenSky ($549.99): open top and a 33 lb limit. See our multi-cat guide.
- Casa Leo Leo's Loo Too ($599.99): ~30 dB claim, 20 lb limit. 100% clay clumping litter only, and other litters void the warranty and trial.
- Neakasa M1 Plus ($399.99): open top, 2.2–~33 lb, 2-year warranty. Wirecutter dropped the earlier M1 after reported over-rotation injuries. Neakasa says it fixed this with firmware and a new gear, and Wirecutter plans to retest the M1 Plus. We'll wait for that retest.
- ChillX AutoEgg ($399.99): light (11 lb) and low, but a 2 L bin and a recommended cat range of 4.4–15.4 lb.
- Litter-Robot 3 Connect: discontinued. If you buy one used, note its 5 lb minimum cat weight.
Safety: what to avoid
Cats.com reported a cat allegedly killed by an Amztoy-style box whose door rotates vertically and closes over the opening. If a sensor misses the cat, the door can close on it. The Amztoy listing was removed, but Cats.com warns that similar designs are still sold. Our rules: avoid vertical-closing doors, choose boxes with several sensor types (weight plus infrared or laser) and an anti-pinch entrance, keep firmware updated, follow each maker's minimum cat weight, and use kitten or manual mode below it.
Cost of ownership: the parts nobody prices
- Litter lock-in: PetSafe crystal models need ScoopFree trays. Leo's Loo Too requires 100% clay clumping litter. Whisker recommends standard-weight clumping clay.
- Subscriptions: longer data history on Litter-Robot needs Whisker+, AI facial recognition on the LR5 Pro needs Whisker+, PETKIT video history needs Care+, and Petlibro charges for stored footage (about $95–$160 a year, per Wirecutter).
- Bags and filters: Litter-Robot 4 takes any 8–13 gal bag (Whisker). PETKIT recommends its own bags.
How we chose
We started from 20 current models and recorded every published spec with its source (see the dataset). We ruled out designs with a known safety concern, then weighed four things: fit (cat weight range, entry and interior), capacity per cat, independent hands-on evidence (we credit reviewers who tested), and support (trial length, warranty, parts). Commissions don't affect picks. Several of our picks come from brands whose affiliate programs we haven't joined or that pay less than others. Full details are on the methodology page.
FAQ
Are self-cleaning litter boxes worth it?
For healthy adult cats inside the machine's weight range, with a hard floor nearby and an owner willing to empty a drawer, usually yes. They're a poor fit for kittens under the minimum weight and cats that are scared of motion or noise. See our buyer's guide.
What's the quietest self-cleaning litter box?
No one has published standardized measurements across brands. Manufacturer claims range from ~30 dB (Leo's Loo Too) to ≤50 dB (Neakasa), with no stated distance. The one independent figure we found is ~37 dB average for the Litter-Robot 4 (Cats.com).
Do I still need a regular litter box?
Vet guidance (Cornell, ASPCA, AAHA/AAFP) recommends one box per cat plus one. A spare plain box also covers deep-clean days and power outages.
Sources
Prices and specs were checked on Oct 19, 2026. Manufacturers change specs and prices; check the product page before you buy.
- Litter Box Picks: master comparison dataset (every figure with its source URL)
- Whisker: Litter-Robot 4 product page and manual
- Whisker: Litter-Robot 4 manual (dimensions, weight, entry height)
- Whisker: Litter-Robot 4 product Q&A (staff answer: 40–45 dB during testing; drawer holds 6–8 lb)
- Whisker: Litter-Robot 5, 5 Pro and EVO product pages
- Whisker: Litter-Robot 3 Connect page (discontinued)
- PetSafe: self-cleaning litter box category page (list prices)
- PetSafe: ScoopFree Crystal Classic product page (15 lb limit, kittens 6 months+)
- PETKIT: Purobot Max Pro 2 and Purobot Max 3 product pages; US store catalog
- PETKIT UK: PuraMax 2 product page (specs; 35 dB claim)
- CATLINK: Scooper Open-X (Multi-Cat) product page
- Petlibro: Luma Smart Litter Box product page
- Neakasa: M1 Plus product page
- Casa Leo: Leo's Loo Too product page and manual
- ChillX: AutoEgg product page and FAQ
- Wirecutter: The Best Automatic Cat Litter Boxes (hands-on testing)
- Cats.com: Litter-Robot 4 review (measured ~37 dB average while cycling) — Third-party measurement; distance not stated
- Cats.com: Avoid this type of self-cleaning litter box (Amztoy-style design)
- Whisker Support: Litter-Robot 5 inaccurate cat weight (cats within one pound)
- Cornell Feline Health Center: House Soiling